Wherever You Go, There You are


“Wherever YOU GO, there you are.”  What a silly saying, I thought. Of course, wherever you go, there you are. Where else would you be? But then I thought of how people try to escape from themselves and their troubles. They move to another place, thinking everything will be different there. Before long, they find the same old problems – alcohol addiction, marital troubles, busyness. That’s because when they moved, they brought themselves with them. It’s true – wherever  you go, there you are.

There’s the ultimate attempt to escape – suicide, but that only brings you face-to-face with the other Person you cannot escape from – GOD. David said in Psalm 139:7-12 (NIV)

 7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

There’s only one way out of this dilemma: Come to God just as you are. Confess your shortcomings and failures; for He paid for your sins on the cross, and He offers forgiveness. “Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ” (Romans 5:1). Peace with God brings peace with yourself too. You can stop running away. 🙂

Taken from: Refreshing Words for Busy Women by Darlene Sala

One thought on “Wherever You Go, There You are

  1. Any reflection that encourages people to ‘come as they are’ to their God has it’s roots at the deepest richness and meaning of how God seeks to embrace us. I love that you have shared this. The thing that keeps most away is the often misrepresented view of sin and God and that it is shameful and bad and we should keep it from God or that somehow forgiveness means we should hide it. On the contrary, true freedom is found we we can discover and bring forth our brokenness, represented in the naked and bleeding Christ on the cross and share it with God in all it’s raw humanness, daily. And he will turn to us as Jesus did on the cross to the truly open and repentant thief and say you are loved and treasured… and not despite your brokenness and sin, but because of it. It is there that our loving Father in heaven finds us.

Leave a Comment :)

