A Teacher’s Prayer


This prayer made by James Melcalf is one of the prayers I like the most. Teaching is NOT merely giving information and rote memorization, rather we teach students real life experiences -how to face and cope with the reality. We teach them the truth, what is right or wrong and that God is always there for them whenever they need Him. I admit, teaching others is not as easy as it seems, there’ll be ups and downs, happiness and frustrations, but knowing God is always with me makes the burden lighter. As long as you love what you do, with patience and understanding you’ll get through it. I love it when my students say they love me, thank me, practice what they’ve learned and show improvements. In the end I say, it’s always very FULFILLING to teach and impart your knowledge to others. 😀

A Teacher’s Prayer

I want to teach my students how–
To live this life on earth,
To face its struggles and its strife
And to improve their worth.

Not just the lesson in a book,
Or how the rivers flow,
But to choose the proper path,
Wherever they may go.

To understand eternal truth,
And know right from wrong,
And gather all the beauty of
A flower and a song,

For if I help the world to grow
In wisdom and grace,
Then I feel that I have won
And I have filled my place.

And so I ask your guidance, God
That I may do my part,
For character and confidence
And happiness of heart.


Leave a Comment :)

